Scenes from a High School Baseball Game

I don’t have any experience whatsoever photographing baseball games.  But, I thought it would be easy.  That is until I was confronted with the chain link fence that stand between the spectators and the field of play.  And not just one fence serving as the backstop.  No, a chain link fence that encompasses the entire playing field.  Here are a few shots that came out decent from yesterday’s games between Linn-Mar and Cedar Rapids Prairie.  Linn-Mar is the school my daughter attends and they are currently riding a 10 game winning streak.  Here’s hoping the Lions can keep it up.

While you can’t see the bat, it appears by the batter’s body position that he was way out in front of this pitch.
Here is my favorite shot of the day just because the ball is in clean focus and you can tell the pitch was inside forcing the batter to react. Now if I can just figure out how to remove that fence from my view….

If anyone has any tips in dealing with shooting through a chain link fence, I am all ears.

One Comment Add yours

  1. debbie chapman says:

    My suggestion would be to get on the other side of the fence. I know. I’m helpful. Great pics despite the fence!!

Leave a Reply

