Nature’s Lightshow

We finally received some much needed, widespread rain last night in Iowa.  It was accompanied by some very vivid displays of lightning.  As the storms approached, the lightning was non-stop, so I had plenty of safe time to figure out how to snap some shots.  That task is certainly a challenge.  Patience and timing are key ingredients to success.  Oh, and, of course, vivid lightning.  I set my camera on shutter priority and got the best results with speed set at between 1.3 and 2 seconds.  That meant I had to release the shutter right at the moment the strike occurred.

Here are a few looking to the west from my backyard.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Excellent shots! I’ve been working on trying to capture lightning, with all the t-storms we’ve been having around the Chesapeake Bay. I’ve been a bit lucky, it’s not easy!!

    1. webcentrick says:

      Thanks for the comment. Yes, on that particular night it was the “perfect storm”. The lightning came far ahead of the storm and really never seemed to want to come to the ground. It was so frequent, I had actually got about a dozen good shots and it was really my first serious attempt at capturing it. Timing is everything.

  2. Morgan says:

    Amazing captures!!! What kind of camera do you have, if I may ask?

    1. webcentrick says:

      Thanks for commenting. I’m glad you enjoy the shots. I currently have a Nikon D90 D-SLR.

Leave a Reply

