Spring With New Life

Parental Bookends

On a recent Saturday afternoon, I grabbed my camera and headed out in search of some interesting waterfowl near my home in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.  I decided I would head over to the Robins Lake area of Ellis Park, fed by the Cedar River. Funny side note…. I have co-workers who travel here and ask all the time, “Cedar Rapids?  Is that named for a river?”  I usually reply, “Uhhhh, yep.  That would be the Cedar River”.  There is usually a short pause followed by that duh-colored lightbulb you see turning on in their head.  Anyway, I digress.

So back to the waterfowl.

I had read in the newspaper that the waterfowl had been arriving to the area in droves thanks to the long awaited arrival of Spring.  I was fortunate enough to see several Great Egrets, a Blue Heron, and this wonderful family of Canadian Geese.  Actually there were multiple families of Canadian Geese.  Here is a portfolio of some shots I took of the new life that Springtime brings.  Click (or tap) on any image for a scrollable full view.

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. hak670s says:

    Beautiful photos! Such cute babies.

    1. webcentrick says:

      Thank you. I appreciate your compliments!

  2. Beautiful pictures 🙂

  3. Awww, they are adorable!

    1. webcentrick says:

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

Leave a Reply

