Dragonfly Jackpot

It was hot in Iowa this past Sunday.  But I was itching to get out in Cedar Rapids and take some photos.  I decided to head over to the Brucemore Mansion and peruse the vast flower garden and pond in search of some dragonflies so I could take some Macro shots.  I don’t have a “Macro” lens per se, but I was quite satisfied with how these turned out using my Tamron 18-270 telephoto lens.  I had good sunlight today, so that helped with focus.  The pond was very mossy, which lent itself to some really good dark bokeh backgrounds and added to the contrast of the subject matter.  I hit the jackpot with a variety of green, blue, and red dragonflies.  I know each of these species has a real name, but they’re just dragonflies to me.   As a bonus, I was able to capture a green dragonfly enjoying a japanese beetle dinner!  In case you were wondering, dragonflies are harmless creatures to humans.  In fact, they are a very beneficial insect and can devour hundreds of mosquitoes and flies every day.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Great photos. I love to watch the dragonflies dancing across the water when I’m out kayaking.

    1. webcentrick says:

      Thanks for the comments. That sounds fun. I had the opportunity to watch them for a few hours yesterday. I tried to shoot them in flight, but they were simply too fast for me and they were not in the mood to hover long yesterday. Next time…

  2. Doug S says:

    I know it’s been a while since you posted this, but I still love it…

  3. PapaD says:

    Nice pix. In case you have not had these identified yet, and would like to know what they are, I think I can say with reasonable assurity what kinds they are. The big green guy, is actually a green girl. It is a female Eastern Pond Hawk. The bigger bue one with a whitish tail could well be her mate. It is likely a male Eastern Pond Hawk. The reddish one, although I can’t see his color and wing markings too well, I am going to bet is a Autumn Meadow Hawk, judging by the tail shape and the colors that I can see, and the habitat where you took these. It could also possibly be a Calico Pendant. The skinny bue one is not a dragonfly, but a damselfly. Damselflies are related but not the same. The biggest differences are evident in the slighter and very evenly narrow tail and wings that angle back more at 45 degrees to the abdomen. I want to say it is a Spotted Spreadwing male Damselfly. The way the wings remain spread apart is a tip-off of a Spreadwing, as many other varieties of damselflies lay their wings alongside their boddies when perched; the markings and habitat inclne me to the Spotted variety. Both dragonflies and damselflies are Odenates (odonata). I am not an expert, but I do take a lot of dragonfly pictures. Your post came up as a related post when I posted to y own blog about some dragonfly photography. There may be an entirely new variety of them out if you go back, and the others may be gone for the season–depending on how cool your weather is by now. there are hundreds of varieties od Odonates. Most of the dragonflies overlap with my area in the Mid-south, but the damselflies are more specific to locale.

    1. webcentrick says:

      Wow. Thanks for sharing your expertise! Oddly enough, I went back to that same spot Sunday to take some more shots. The numbers were way down, but the butterflies were way up. I am so fascinated by them and love to shoot them. I will check out your shots. Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

