Monarch Bonanza

I have not done a very good job of keeping this photography blog of mine updated like I wish I could.  The biggest reason is it’s football season, and I’ve been keeping myself busy enough posting my Iowa Hawkeye football pictures to another blog.  But, excuses will only get you so far.

A few weeks ago, I had the opportunity to get out Brucemore Mansion in Cedar Rapids, Iowa on a beautiful Sunday afternoon.  A few weeks before that, I posted several dragonfly macro photos I had taken from there.  I thought this time, I would focus my efforts on the huge butterfly garden and see what I could find.  I hit the butterfly jackpot.  There were so many monarchs I felt as though I was being swarmed.  Even with the large numbers, I had a difficult time getting them to sit still long enough to get good focus and contrast.  But, you know, patience is a virtue.  If it was easy, everyone would be doing it!  Here is what I was able to get from the monarchs.  Pay particular attention to the ones where the butterfly appears to get his probiscus caught in a tiny petal.  Priceless moments for a macro photograph!  All of these shots were taken on my Nikon D90 with a Tamron 18-270mm f/3.5-6.3 lens.  Who says you have to have a prime macro lens?

Monarch with a dark background
Monarch Square photo
Can somebody get this off?
Monarch Probiscus Probz 2
Double the fun!
Spread your wings…

I have more of these located on my photo hosting site in this gallery and, of course, they are available for purchase there.  Enjoy!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. UNBELIEVABLE. That’s exactly what I would like to shot one day. Thank you so much for sharing, you’re such an inspiration!!!

    1. webcentrick says:

      Thank you! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

