Weekly Photo Challenge: Infinity

The photo challenge of the week is to post a photo that describes “infinity”.  I would suspect that most entries in response to that challenge will have something to do with a long horizon line or subject lines leading to a vanishing point.  I’m going to take a different approach and point my camera to the infinite vastness of the night sky.  As I am still really learning about photography, I have a lot of room to grow.  But, that’s what makes this hobby so enjoyable – you can always improve your last shot.  So I offer up 3 photos that mean “infinity” to me.  And, no doubt, I will improve my techniques to take even better photos, because the possibilities are infinite.

We have been blessed with fantastic weather in Iowa this week, so I have learned how to shoot the moon.  As the sunlight shines on the moon, the craters appearing on the horizon give you wonder of what's beyond.
We have been blessed with fantastic weather in Iowa this week, so I have learned how to shoot the moon. As the sunlight shines on the moon, the craters appearing on the horizon give you wonder of what’s beyond.
This was one of my very first attempts at shooting the Milky Way. This shot is from a pullout in Grand Teton National Park. I used my iPhone light to paint my car and add some drama to the foreground during this 30 second exposure.
To Infinity and Beyond!

 

 

18 Comments Add yours

  1. Yoshi says:

    please share how you shot the moon.

    1. webcentrick says:

      Absolutely! The first thing you have to realize is the moon is lit by the sun, so it is a very bright object, thus you must shoot with a small aperture or you won’t get any detail. You must mount to a tripod, use manual focus, and turn off VR. This shot I have zoomed to 300mm, which is the longest lens I have (sigh). I believe this was a manual exposure shot at f16 and 1/50th of a second. I did some slight processing in Aperture and cropped it significantly. Those settings will give you a good start. When I do the full moon 🙂 I will probably increase the shutter to 1/250. I have learned that it is very difficult to focus for sharpness at 300mm. Have fun!

    1. webcentrick says:

      Thank you very much

  2. mithriluna says:

    Wow. Wow. And wow.

    1. webcentrick says:

      Thanks. Thank you. And thanks again! I see from your blog that you are a mother of nine. There is no bigger “wow” more deserving than that!! Thanks for stopping by in your single spare moment of your day.

      1. mithriluna says:

        Aw, what a sweet thing to say! Your pictures definitely deserve a few of my “spare moments”. These images are incredible.

      2. webcentrick says:

        I appreciate the feedback. Thanks again.

    1. webcentrick says:

      Oh, I can assure you…I have tons to learn. One day, hopefully, I will compose a shot, adjust the settings, and know EXACTLY what will come off of that sensor. I can’t say that is true today. I’m glad you like my images, though. Thanks for taking the time to read and comment.

Leave a Reply

