Iowa City Jazz Festival 2014

I’ve said this before, but I love summer.  One of the reasons I love summer is the countless opportunities you should have to take in a fabulous local music festival.  I’ve also said this before: I LOVE the Iowa City Jazz Festival.  There are so many reasons why:

  • It’s FREE
  • Iowa City is a fantastic town that can shatter any Iowa stereotype you care to muster
  • It’s incredibly well-organized
  • the jazz talent offered is diverse
  • the food offered via the “Culinary Row” is a major part of it
  • It’s always played out during the 4th of July holiday, complete with fireworks over the iconic University of Iowa Pentacrest and Old Capital building
  • I can bring my camera
  • and, did I mention, it’s FREE?

In all sincerity, I dare you to find me a better jazz festival, or festival of any kind for that matter.

Here are some shots I took of some of the acts I witnessed and some other sights you’d find if you ever wanted to attend.

ETIENNE CHARLES

DSC_3829
Etienne Charles

DSC_3831

JOE LOVANO’s Us 5

DSC_3871
Joe Lovano

DSC_3863

DSC_3862

NORDIC CONNECT

DSC_3775

ANAT COHEN QUARTET

DSC_3895
Anat Cohen
Photo Jul 05, 6 05 24 PM
Anat Cohen Quartet

Photo Jul 05, 5 20 45 PMDSC_3919

TOM HARRELL’S COLORS OF A DREAM

DSC_3984
Tom Harrell

DSC_4010

DSC_3960
Tom Harrell’s Color of a Dream

Photo Jul 05, 7 45 19 PMDSC_4121

Photo Jul 05, 8 57 32 PMPhoto Jul 04, 5 31 11 PMDSC_3887

Leave a Reply

