Inside the Rose Bowl and Augusta National Within 4 Months

They say you get better with age.

I don’t really know about that, but it’s very difficult for me to find reason to complain about the 50th year of my birth.

“The Grandaddy of Them All”

You see, this year I’ve gotten to experience two things that are on many a sports lover’s bucket list – and most certainly mine. On January 1, 2016, I was in Pasadena, California to see my beloved Iowa Hawkeyes play in the The Rose Bowl. Then just over 4 months later, I find myself on some of the most beautiful private property in the world, Augusta National Golf Club for The Masters Tournament.

While the Rose Bowl result didn’t turn out the way I had hoped, the experience of being there was surreal. The weather was beautiful, especially in stark contrast to the frigid temperatures I left behind in Iowa.  Since it was the Hawkeyes’ first visit to Pasadena in 25 years, the mood through the week and leading up to the game was as festive as could possibly be.

“A Tradition Unlike Any Other”

Being at Augusta National for the Wednesday practice round and the annual Par 3 Contest was equally incredible. Again, beautiful weather set the stage for being completely awestruck when entering the impeccable grounds.  The Masters experience is unlike anything I’ve ever felt as a sports fan.

I can’t wait to have the opportunity to go back to both amazing venues.

DSC_6108
Fans gather to see the 7th, 8th, and 9th holes of the Par 3 Course at Augusta National.
DSC_8497
The Rose Bowl pressbox against the colors of the New Year’s twilight sky.

 

Leave a Reply

